New Avengers, Volume 1: Everything Dies

The Illuminati must reassemble to prevent the collision of our universe with another! It’s the Marvel Universe’s most powerful and brilliant team – Black Panther, Iron Man, Dr. Strange, Black Bolt, Mr. Fantastic, Sub-Mariner and the Beast – armed with the six Infinity Gems against an infinite legion of parallel realities. But their task is complicated by old wounds, lies and secret agendas. When the Illuminati experiences its first dimensional incursion, can the members of this loose brotherhood trust each other enough to use the Infinity Gems in unison? And when they learn Earth is the center point for the death of the universe, doesn’t that mean destroying it might save everything else? Enter the world-eater, Galactus, as the Illuminati does the unthinkable

Volumes #1 – #6


First impressions was just wow. From the offset.

This series introduces us to the Illuminati – a group of heroes who have formed a secret coalition in order to deal with extremely big events in secret. It introduces some characters that aren’t currently known from the Marvel Cinematic Universe (Black Panther, Black Bolt, Dr Strange and Namor) and does a very good job of showcasing who they are and their morals. Whereas the Avengers has a full roster of characters – so many that you can struggle to keep up – this nicely limits it. The characters involved are all interesting and have independent thoughts and experiences that you can grasp almost straight away without knowing any of their history – cinematic universe or otherwise.

I can find no fault with these volumes. It introduces everything well and carries the story along with a pace that’s not too much information overload yet keeps you turning the pages and moving forward excitingly. It does link in with the Avengers, but only in a very small teeny tiny overlap. If you don’t want to read the Avenger’s then you can still thoroughly enjoy this series and I whole heartedly recommend it to any of you who have thought about picking up comics, enjoy the marvel films, or even seasoned comic readers. It’s a good starter comic without being an origin cliché.


Secret Wars Placement

  • Avengers #1-3
  • New Avengers #1-3
  • Avengers #4
  • New Avengers #4
  • Avengers #5
  • New Avengers #5-6
  • Avengers #6-13

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *