Avengers, Volume 1: Avengers World

The greatest heroes in comics together on one unbeatable team! The Avengers “go large,” expanding their roster and their sphere of influence to a global and even interplanetary level. When Captain America puts out his call – who will answer? Big threats, big ideas, big idealism – these are the Avengers NOW!

Volumes #1 – #6


The first thing I will say about this comic book is that I don’t recommend it for beginners who want to begin their journey into the comic world, not even coming from the manga books. Nor do I recommend it to those of you that are just starting off in the Marvel Universe. It requires a bit of prior knowledge into some of the characters and how they relate to each other (Iron Man and Captain America specifically) in order to appreciate the first few pages of the comic.

All in all it was a good comic. It picks up the end trail of a different storyline but that’s not important to the context of this series. It gives you all the information you need to know when the Avenger’s find out about it. It also expands the avenger’s roster significantly. You have to be able to read the comic and go “oh who’s that? Well I’m sure it’ll tell me later” as there were plenty of avenger’s that I had never heard of. Two of those get their origins explored within these volumes but if you don’t have the understanding of how to link the images and text together and allow yourself to interpret the event it can definitely cause some confusion. I got very confused at one point and had to stop reading it and talk it through with someone to figure out what exactly what going on.

Despite that, it sets the stage for a bigger event and at the end of the volume I was ready to pick up the next. The art within is absolutely gorgeous with a lot of attention to detail and it adds as much to the story as the world does. It’s also the start of the Secret Wars storyline. For review purposes, I’ll be structuring them in volumes (as that’s the format we own them in) but for those of you that want to read the Secret Wars in issue order, I’ll list how these particular ones interlink with other comics, highlighting the ones contained within this volume.


Secret Wars Placement

  • Avengers #1-3
  • New Avengers #1-3
  • Avengers #4
  • New Avengers #4
  • Avengers #
  • New Avengers #5-6
  • Avengers #6
  • Avengers #7-13


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *